liaison librarian
key article databases
- compendex this link opens in a new window
access to over five million summaries of journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings in all areas of engineering. coverage: 1969-
- ehraf world culturesfull-text collection of resource materials on selected cultures from all major areas of the world.
- atoz maps online this link opens in a new window
database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. new maps are added to the collection every month.
database tips
atoz maps glossaries:
atoz maps includes several glossaries:
- volcanology glossary (usgs)
- weather glossary (noaa)
- weather abbrev. and acronyms
- climate change glossary - epa
- geography visual glossary
- gis glossary
geobase thesaurus search:
the thesaurus function helps you to:
- identify controlled vocabulary terms
- find synonyms and related terms
- improve your search strategy with suggested and narrower terms
the thesaurus is accessible from the main search page.
geobase mapping tool - graphically showing, or mapping, the significant geographic features mentioned in the result set of a search. after running a search, click the show map link to display a map of your results. the map plots different geographical data from geobase search results on a digital map using google map technology.
other databases
- america: history and life with full text this link opens in a new window
covering the history and culture of the united states and canada, from prehistory to the present. with selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books. coverage: 1955-
- geoscan this link opens in a new windowrepository for all earth sciences sector (ess) bibliographic information.
- historical abstracts with full text this link opens in a new window
provides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. in addition, this database provides access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books.
- resors bibliographic database this link opens in a new window
(remote sensing online retrieval system) - provide access to archived information on the technologies and applications of remote sensing and is available through the earth sciences information centre (esic) of natural resources canada. coverage: 1950-1995
how to find an article
