- library
- research guides
- gender and women's studies
- primary sources & special collections
gender and women's studies
primary sources & special collections
- canada's early women writers this link opens in a new window
biographical and publication information for more than 470 women who lived in canada or wrote about canada, and authored an english-language book or pamphlet of fiction or poetry that was published before 1940.
- canadiana online (formerly early canadiana online) this link opens in a new window
canadiana online identifies, catalogue, and digitizes documentary heritage—books, newspapers, periodicals, images and nationally-significant archival materials.
monographs - spanning three and a half centuries of canadian documentary history, holds rich primary materials exploring a wide range of subjects and disciplines. with a projected 84,000 titles by completion, this resource is the most comprehensive full-text searchable set of historical monographs currently available for the study of canada.
serials - includes a wide range of dailies, weeklies, specialized journals and mass-market magazines, as well as city directories and annual reports from churches, schools, and corporations. specialized publications include trade or industry journals as well as many men’s, women’s, student’s and children’s popular magazines
government publications - includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents. this collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from france and great britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.
canadiana online is projected to digitalize the entire cihm collection by the end of 2018. - defining gender, 1450-1910 this link opens in a new window
provides access to a vast body of original sources in gender studies.
- feminist poster projectthe feminist poster project wishes to support feminist poster making by offering a space where feminist posters are collected and archived. all posters on this website are available for downloading in pdf and can be printed easily.
- heinonline this link opens in a new windowan online research product with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
includes coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals, congressional record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the u.s. reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the united nations and league of nations treaty series, all united states treaties, the federal register from inception in 1936, the cfr from inception in 1938, and much more. also includes women and the law (peggy), a new collection uniting books, biographies and periodicals dedicated to the role of women in society and the law.also includes:
*selden society publications and the history of early english law
*scottish legal history: featuring publications of the stair society
*air and space law
*john f. kennedy assassination collection
*executive privilege
*business and legal aspects of sports and entertainment (blasÉ) - independent voices this link opens in a new window
a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. these periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident gis, campus radicals, native americans, anti-war activists, black power advocates, hispanics, lgbt activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
independent voices is made possible by the funding support received from libraries and donors across the u.s., canada and the u.k. through their funding, these libraries and donors are demonstrating their commitment to open access digital collections. full access to independent voices is available exclusively to funding libraries through december 2018. the collection will become entirely open access in january 2019.
- globe and mail: 1844-2018 (proquest historical newspapers) this link opens in a new window
women's history online collections
- a queer history of thunder baythis queer history of thunder bay explores some of the organizations that supported the community and brought change to the lives of lgbtq+ people in the region. based on records from the david belrose fonds, this exhibit highlights the gays of thunder bay, the aids council of thunder bay, northwest connections, out and about, cteach, and thunder pride. through these documents, you can learn about what the queer community did to help each other and advance the rights of queer people in the region and in the country. it is through their contributions—among countless others—that we are where we are at today. it is also important to note that this exhibit has a focus on queer men's organizations due to the source material, and what could be safely and respectfully shared on the internet. efforts were made to be as thoughtful as possible in the creation of this exhibit and feedback is always welcome. (from introduction to exhibit)
- archives of women's political communication
from iowa state university, archival of speeches and ads for female political leaders.
- canadian war brides
provides information on the canadian war brides of wwi
- a celebration of women writers
- celebrating women's achievements
contains information about a selection of exceptional canadian women who have made outstanding contributions to canadian society and the world.
- distinguished women of past and present short biographies of accomplished women.
- heroines.ca: a guide to canadian women in history
- herstory
a retrospective exhibition to capture the flavour of 20 years of work on a unique feminist project. it samples the pages of herstory: the canadian women's calendar from 1974 to 1995, and reflects on the process and the people that created them.
- multimedia sites in women's history
- national women's history project
the national women's history project, founded in 1980, is an educational nonprofit organization whose mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs.
-
women's suffrage brief summary of the seneca falls convention
- world bank: gender and development
data on gender topics from national statistics agencies, united nations databases, and world bank-conducted or funded surveys.