e-journals by subject
citation manuals and style guides
cite your sources!
how do you cite your sources?
check out our zotero guide and the library's citation help guide.
key article databases
- ieee/xplore this link opens in a new windowaccess to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature. coverage: 1988-
- compendex this link opens in a new windowincludes electrical and electronic engineering, physics, information technology, and computer and control systems. coverage: 1969-
- acm digital library (association for computing machinery) this link opens in a new windowthe acm digital library provides access to all acm journals and magazines online, as well as conference proceedings; more than 750,000 pages of downloadable text. in addition, it provides access to non-acm journals and proceedings available from affiliated organizations, such as the computing research repository (corr). the acm dl is a vast collection of citations and full text from acm journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
other databases
- mathscinet this link opens in a new windowincludes mathematical reviews and current mathematical publications coverage: 1940-
- scholars portal journals this link opens in a new window
a digital repository of over 40 million scholarly articles covering every academic discipline.
- sciencedirect this link opens in a new windowincludes over 1800 full-text journals. subjects covered include: biology, business, chemistry, medicine, nursing, physics etc.
- springer nature link journals this link opens in a new window
includes over 1500 full-text journals. subjects covered include: biology, chemistry, medicine, mathematics, physics etc.
- synthesis digital library of engineering and computer scienceinformation service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science*lakehead has access to collections 1 and 2
- arxiv.org - computer scienceopen access to 836,183 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics
article databases/repositories on the free web
- google scholar this link opens in a new window
google scholar provides a way to search for scholarly literature. from one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
to access google scholar from off-campus please do the following:
1)go to the menu item (top left of the screen) and select settings
2)click on library links
3)search for lakehead in the search box
4)select " getit@lakehead" by checking off the box
5)click on save
- citeseerxthe citeseer continuity database lists all the most cited articles in computer science from 2006 back to 1990.
- corr computing research repositorysearch, browse and download papers through this online repository.
- arxiv.org this link opens in a new windowfull text repository of unpublished papers and grey literature in mathematics, physics and computer science.
journal rankings
on occasion, the quality of research can be indicated by the calibre of the research publication. several measures have been attempted to determine the research value of academic journals. check the following resources to find publication measures.
provides two scores for each journal: eigenfactor score (ef): "a measure of the overall value provided by all of the articles published in a given journal in a year"; and an article influence score (ai): a measure of a journal's prestige based on per article citations".
tracks trends and performance in basic research including most cited articles. part of the site called sci-bytes provides data on journal rankings. from thomson reuters, providers of jcr. however, information here is freely available.
snip (source normalized impact per paper)
developed by the centre for science and technology studies (cwts) at leiden university for scopus. data is available by journal on this site.