helpful books
omni search
ebook collections
environmental law by the fifth edition of environmental law, is a comprehensive introductory guide to environmental law in canada which incorporates discussion of recent developments in environmental litigation and regulation alongside reference to key statutory developments from the past half decade. in addition, updating and revisions highlight significant developments in several key areas, notably federal and provincial climate change action following the 2015 paris agreement and issues associated with aboriginal consultation, the united nations declaration on the rights of indigenous peoples (undrip) and traditional environmental knowledge
international law: doctrine, practice, theory by see ch 11: international environmental law
the next generation of impact assessment : a critical review of the canadian impact assessment actlegislated impact assessment requirements were first introduced over fifty years ago with the national environmental policy act in the united states and have since spread to over a hundred and fifty jurisdictions around the world. the details have varied widely, reflecting the global diversity of socio-ecological and governance systems and associated issues, traditions, capacities, ambitions, and power structures. in 2015, canada embarked on a task that no other country has attempted in recent years: fundamentally reconsidering how best to tackle environmental assessment
animal welfare and international environmental law by at a time when the planet's wildlife faces countless dangers, international environmental law continues to overlook its evolving welfare interests. this thought-provoking book provides a crucial exploration of how international environmental law must adapt to take account of the growing recognition of the intrinsic value of wildlife.
climate change, sustainable development, cleantech by climate change, sustainable development and cleantechenvisions both global cleantech development and international cleantech transfer as crucial means to address climate change and secure sustainable development for planet earth. the book examines what it takes to attract foreign cleantech and encourage domestic cleantech innovation.
climate change law by this timely and incisive book combines an introduction to the core legal and policy issues presented by climate change with a deeper analysis of decisions that will define the path forward. offering a guide to key terms, concepts, and legal principles in the field, this book will help readers develop a sophisticated perspective on issues central to climate change law and policy.
global climate constitutionalismclimate change is causing a geological transition, defining a new era in which the earth system is configured through human action. the emergence of a global polity through physical, economic and social interaction demands a global response to this phenomenon which cannot be modelled on traditional political and legal concepts centred around the nation-state.
the impact of environmental law : stories of the world we wantthis cutting-edge book invites readers to rethink environmental law and its critical role in ensuring a sustainable future for all. featuring international narratives, it demonstrators how environmental law can be a potent tool to secure multi-actor engagement, to improve ocean governance and to usher in effective policy reforms. contributors illustrate narratives of successful historic and contemporary developments in environmental law, setting out innovative approaches to issues such as environmental enforcement and monitoring, effective forest protection, climate adaptation and disaster risk reduction.
climate in court by answering the key question of whether there is an obligation for states to define and enact sound climate policies in order to avoid the impacts of global warming, this timely book provides expert analysis on recent global climate cases, assessing not only the plaintiffs' claims but also the legal reasoning put forward by the courts.
principles of international environmental law by this second edition of philippe sand's leading textbook on international environmental law provides a clear and authoritative introduction to the subject, revised to december 2002. it considers relevant new topics, including the kyoto protocol, genetically modified organisms, oil pollution, chemicals etc. and will remain the most comprehensive account of the principles and rules relating to environmental protection and the conservation of natural resources.
documents in european community environmental law by this is the companion volume to the second edition of philippe sands' "principles of international environmental law and sands" and galizzi's "documents in international environmental law." it comprises extracts from essential ec treaties, regulations, directives, decisions and other acts of ec institutions. ec environmental legislation represents one of the most complex and challenging legal regimes for the protection of the environment.
international environmental law: fairness, effectiveness, and world order by this book analyzes the law and policy for the management of global common resources. as competing demands on the global commons are increasing, the protection of environment and the pursuit of growth give rise to all sorts of conflicts. it also analyzes issues in the protection of the global commons from a fairness, effectiveness and world order perspective.
routledge handbook of food as a commons by from the scientific and industrial revolution to the present day, food - an essential element of life - has been progressively transformed into a private, transnational, mono-dimensional commodity of mass consumption for a global market. but over the last decade there has been an increased recognition that this can be challenged and reconceptualized if food is regarded and enacted as a commons. this handbook provides the first comprehensive review and synthesis of knowledge and new thinking on how food and food systems can be thought, interpreted and practiced around the old/new paradigms of commons and commoning.
law and ecology by law and ecology: new environmental foundations contains a series of theoretical and applied perspectives on the connection between law and ecology, which together offer a radical and socially responsive foundation for environmental law. while its legal corpus grows daily, environmental law has not enjoyed the kind of jurisprudential underpinning generally found in other branches of law.
international environmental agreements by there has been an exponential growth in international environmental treaty-making over the past fifty years, to the point of 'treaty congestion' - with a total of more than 1,300 multilateral (global and regional) agreements on the topic and close to 3,000 bilateral ones currently in force.
