arts integrated research library guide

introduction : reviewing visual arts research -- pt. 1. contexts for visual arts research -- 1. pigment to pixel -- 2. paradigms lost -- pt. 2. theorizing visual arts practice -- 3. explanation, understanding, and beyond -- 4. visual knowing -- 5. artist as theorist -- pt. 3. visual arts research practices -- 6. practice as theory -- epilogue : conclusions and beginnings.

presenting readers with definitions and examples of arts-based educational research, this text identifies tensions, questions, and models in the field and provides guidance for both beginning and more experienced practice. as arts-based research grows in prominence and popularity across education and the social sciences, the barriers between empirical, institutional, and artistic research diminish and new opportunities emerge for discussion, consideration, and reflection. this book responds to an ever increasing, global need to understand and navigate this evolving domain of research. featuring a diverse range of contributors, this text weaves together critical essays about arts-based research in the literary, visual, and performing arts with examples of excellence in theory and practice.

arts based research is ideal for 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , researchers, and practitioners. this unique book provides a framework for broadening the domain of qualitative inquiry in the social sciences by incorporating the arts as a means of better understanding and rethinking important social issues. in the book's 10 thought-provoking chapters, authors tom barone and elliot w. eisner--pioneers in the field--address key aspects of arts based research, including its purpose and fundamental ideas, controversies that surround the field and the politics and ethics involved, and key criteria for evaluation.

"this resource consists of a collection of essays that explain and exemplify the arts-based research methodology called a/r/tography. edited by four scholars who are artists, researchers, and teachers (a/r/tographers), this book is a methodology book for practitioners in arts-based educational research. in addition to an introductory essay which contextualizes and theorizes the methodological framework of a/r/tography, the book is divided into three main thematic sections that are integral to a/r/tographical research: (1) self-study and autobiography; (2) communities of a/r/tographic practice; (3) ethics and activism. the book concludes with a consideration of issues related to assessment, validity, and interpretation.

"climbing the ladder with gabriel demonstrates the power of photography and poetry to render the experience of methamphetamine addiction and recovery through the art of an interdisciplinary research methodology. instructors, 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , recovering addicts, and prevention/recovery advocates will find this a valuable resource. there are many ways to "know the world." the authors of this remarkable text have adopted an eclectic mix of methodologies from the arts and sciences to portray the experience of methamphetamine addiction. while it may never be possible to fully "know" another's experience, this book provides readers with one of the most intimate portraits of a methamphetamine addict ever assembled. the reader will be touched by the juxtaposition of everyday joy and the hopelessness and regret so poignantly portrayed by these authors. the book is also hopeful, documenting that, even in the throes of terrible addiction, unique humanness survives and recovery is always possible. " --john m. roll, professor and associate dean, college of nursing. director, program of excellence in the addictions, washington state university.

creating together explores an emerging approach to research that combines arts practices and scholarship in participatory, community-based, and collaborative contexts in canada across multiple disciplines. looking at a variety of art forms, from photography and mural painting to performance art and poetry, the contributors explore how the process of creating together generates and disseminates collective knowledge. the collection highlights three forms of research: participatory arts-based research that engages participants in all stages of the inquiry and aims to produce practical knowing to benefit the community; community-based arts research that has community/public space at the heart of practice; and collaborative arts approaches involving multi-levelled, multi-layered, and interdisciplinary collaboration from diverse perspectives. to illustrate how such innovative work is being accomplished in canada, the collection includes examples from british columbia to newfoundland and across disciplines, including the fine arts, education, the health sciences, and social work.

knowles and cole bring together the top scholars in qualitative methods to provide a comprehensive overview of where arts-based research has come, and where it is going. it addresses the significant issues conceiving and conducting arts-based or arts-informed research in the social sciences and humanities.

ma is a curriculum. the japanese concept of ma refers to the interval between two markers. ma is somatically constructed by a deliberate, attentive consciousness to what simultaneously is expressed, repressed, or suppressed between two structures. in a dialectic exploration, the spaces between--private/public, teacher/student, old/new, self/other, among others--are probed in ways that contribute to the significant research in teaching and learning that has been undertaken in the last few decades. material culture is the study of belief systems, behaviours, and perceptions through artefacts and physical objects and is central to the socialization of human beings into culture. the analysis of cultural materials offers sites for concretizing the self and the self in context. new materiality challenges assumptions and clichés and allows for possibilities not yet imagined, perhaps even inconceivable possibilities. new materiality approaches accept that matter itself has agency. as such, this book investigates the intersections at the core of ma, engagements wherein the investigations create something new, in order to demonstrate the layers of the teaching and learning self. interpretations of the concept of ma articulate new definitions to improve the conditions, practices, products, and pedagogies of being a teacher/learner in the twenty-first century. ma is a site for epistemological understandings, threshold learnings, and self and curriculum becomings.

parallaxic praxis is a multi-modal, transmethodological research framework utilized by interdisciplinary teams to collect, interpret, transmediate, analyze, and mobilize data generatively. the term is used as a noun to refer to the model and also as a verb to describe the research practice. the methodology leverages the researchers¿ personal strengths and the collective expertise of the team including the participants and community when possible. the reparative and residual research design benefits include the use of multi-perspective analysis, multi-modal investigations, informal and directed dialogic conversations, and innovative knowledge creation. relying on difference, dialogue, and creativity propulsion processes; and drawing on post-qualitative, new materiality, multiliteracies, and combinatorial, even juxtaposing theoretical frames; this model offers extensive research possibilities across disciplines and content areas to mobilize knowledge to broad audiences. this book explains methods, theories, and perspectives, and provides examples for developing creative research design in order to innovate new understandings. this model is especially useful for interdisciplinary partnerships or cross-sector collaborations. examples include possibilities for scholars doing projects in social justice, community engagement, teacher education, indigenous research, and health and wellness. this book specifically addresses issues of research design, ethics of arts-integrated research, methodology, knowledge generation, mobilization, and dissemination for academics, 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , and community partners. examples include projects in social justice, community engagement, teacher education, indigenous research, addictions, and health and wellness.

arts education research has increased significantly since the beginning of the new millennium. this peer-reviewed book, the first of two volumes, captures some of the exciting developments in canada. there is geographical diversity represented from across this large country, as well as theoretical and methodological diversity in the chapters. there is also a sense of togetherness with those, and other, diversities. there are calls to action and calls to play. we hear voices of artists, researchers, and artist researchers. the life histories of others, and of the self, are presented.

the purpose of this edited collection, entitled perspectives on arts education research in canada, volume 2: issues and directions, is to provide an overview of the current research undertaken across the country, thereby providing a valuable resource for 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , professors and research associates working in the arts disciplines, media studies, education, and cultural studies.

in the tradition of a decade of bi-annual gatherings of the international symposium on poetic inquiry, this volume serves as the fifth refereed symposium anthology. enchantments of place celebrates poetry and poetic voices'theorizing and exploring poetic inquiry as an approach, methodology, and/or method for use in contemporary research practices. poetic inquiry has increased in prominence as a legitimate means by which to collect, assimilate, analyze, and share the results of research across many disciplines. with this collection, we hope to continue to lay the groundwork internationally, for researchers, scholars, graduate 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 , and the larger community to take up poetic inquiry as a way to approach knowledge generation, learning, and sharing.this volume specifically works to draw attention to the ancient connection between poetry and the natural world with attention to broadening the ecological scope and impact of the work of poetic inquirers.

a brilliant and daring piece of scholarship, this book will raise eyebrows and spark much debate. it does not simply break new ground, it breaks all the rules ultimately compelling us to examine and embrace scholarship in fresh, innovative ways. seeing red is based on pauline sameshima's doctoral dissertation, winner of the 2007 arts based educational research (aber) outstanding dissertation award by the american educational research association (aera). this award is for the best dissertation that explores, is an exemplar of, and pushes the boundaries of arts based educational research. the book showcases a phd dissertation written in the form of an epistolary bildungsroman a didactic novel of personal developmental journeying. the work is a fiction (letters from a graduate student to the professor she is in love with) embedded in developmental understanding of living the life of a teacher researcher. the work shares the possibilities of how artful research informs processes of scholarly inquiry and honours the reader's multi-perspective as integral to the research project's transformative potential. parallax is the apparent change of location of an object against a background due to a change in observer position or perspective shift. the concept of parallax encourages researchers and teachers to acknowledge and value the power of their own and their readers and 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 ' shifting subjectivities and situatedness which directly influence the constructs of perception, interpretation, and learning. the novel format ties themes and characters together just as storytelling can bind theory and practice. norman denzin (2005) supports the pedagogical and libratory nature of the critical democratic storytelling imagination. he hails this book as ..". bold, innovative, a wild, transformative text, ... almost unruly, a new vision for critical, reflexive inquiry." the love story and issues of teacher/learner role boundaries are controversial and largely unspoken of in educational settings and the letter format is voyeuristic. in this sense, the audience is being given a peek, a look at the unrevealed. one of the advantages of the epistolary novel is its semblance of reality and the difficulty for readers to distinguish the text from genuine correspondence (wurzbach, 1969). the genre allows the reader access to the writing character's intimate thoughts without perceived interference from the author's manipulation and conveys events with dramatic and sensational immediacy (carafi, 1997)."