critical legal theories

from the 1950s to the late 1990s, agents of the state spied on, interrogated, and harassed gays and lesbians in canada, employing social ideologies and other practices to construct their targets as threats to society. based on official security documents and interviews with gays, lesbians, civil servants, and high-ranking officials, this path-breaking book discloses acts of state repression and forms of resistance that raise questions about just whose national security was being protected.

this book draws on the analytic and political dimensions of queer, alongside the analytic and political usefulness of emotion, to navigate legal interventions aimed at progressing the rights of lgbt people. scholars, activists, lawyers, and judges concerned with eliminating violence and discrimination against lgbt people have generated passionate conversations about pursuing law reform to make lgbt injuries, intimacies, and identities visible, while some challenge the ways legal systems marginalise queer minorities.

intersex people are born with sex characteristics that do not fit typical notions of male or female bodies, as a result of which they are stigmatised, marginalised and denied the recognition of their fundamental rights. often, they are subjected to involuntary and harmful sex "normalising" surgeries at birth, which violate their bodily integrity, self-determination and informed consent, so as to comply with societal and legal norms. moreover, binary legal frameworks prevent them from enjoying the rights to access identification documents, start a family, or be free from discrimination in all areas including employment and sports.

this book will introduce lawyers and their clients to the legal landscape as it relates to lesbian, gay and transgender persons today. this book provides the opportunity to look at legal issues from different perspectives. in addition to case law, statutes and a discussion of legal issues, this book also introduces the reader to people who make up the lesbian/gay/transgender community.

this handbook explores not only current debates in the area of gender, sexuality and the law but also points the way for future socio-legal research and scholarship. it presents wide-ranging insights and debates from across the globe, with contributions from leading scholars and activists alongside exciting emergent voices. chapters address a range of current arguments and issues, providing an enhanced theoretical framework and evolving understanding from a variety of feminist and queer perspectives.

the historical dictionary of the lesbian and gay liberation movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions.

this book undertakes a critical analysis of international human rights law through the lens of queer theory. it aims to make use of queer theory to illustrate that the field of human rights law is underpinned by several assumptions that determine a conception of the subject that is gendered and sexual in specific ways. this gives rise to multiple legal and social consequences, some of which challenge the very idea of universality of human rights.

social jurisprudence in the changing of social norms: emerging research and opportunities delivers a collection of resources dedicated to identifying sexual orientation as a protected legal class like race, color, gender, and religion using innovative research methods and the federalist responses to the lgbt movement.

this volume explores the diversity and complexity of transgender people's experiences and demonstrates that gendered bodies are constructed through different social, cultural and economic networks and through different spaces and places. rethinking transgender identities brings together original research in the form of interviews, participatory methods, surveys, cultural texts and insightful commentary. this will appeal to scholars and graduate 世界杯2022赛程表淘汰赛 working within the fields of sociology, gender studies, sexuality and queer studies, family studies, media and cultural studies, psychology, health, law, criminology, politics and human geography.

this groundbreaking collection is the first to focus specifically on lgbt* people and dementia. it brings together original chapters from leading academics, practitioners and lgbt* individuals affected by dementia. multi-disciplinary and international in scope, it includes authors from the uk, usa, canada and australia and from a range of fields, including sociology, social work, psychology, health care and socio-legal studies.

survivors of conversion practices - interventions meant to stop gender transition - have likened the process to torture. florence ashley rethinks and pushes forward the banning of these practices by surveying these bans in different jurisdictions, and addressing key issues around their legal regulation. importantly, this book centres the experiences of trans people themselves in its analysis and recommendations.

self-declaration in the legal recognition of gender examines the impact of legislation premised upon the principle of 'self-declaration' of legal gender status. existing doctrinal and comparative analyses have tended to come out strongly in favour of, or against, self-declaration. this book offers a socio-legal alternative which focuses on how self-declaration is experienced, on an embodied level, by trans and gender diverse people.